Home > Exchange 2010 > The Exchange Mailbox Server Calculator

The Exchange Mailbox Server Calculator

I was just catching up on various blogs this morning and listening to Greg Taylor via TechEd online http://channel9.msdn.com/Events/TechEd/NorthAmerica/2011/EXL326

Greg was talking about some new features in the up coming Service Pack 2 for Exchange 2010 which includes Address book Policies which I know will be a welcome addition to many. Once I finished that I took a look at the Exchange blog to find another nugget of useful information….

Ross Smith for a long time has created and continually developed the Mailbox Server Requirement Calculator which gave you all the information you needed to design and resource your Exchange Mailbox server deployments, I recall over a year ago (probably over 2) talking to Ross and saying this was a fantastic tool but it was missing one thing for me and that was the database distribution, it always made my head hurt for a while designing any large deployment. I don’t recall Ross’s exact words but I am sure it was something like yeah good luck with that!! Smile but he has done it Smile not only that he has gone further and even provide scripts to create the copies with the activation preferences.

Shame this was not around over the last three months for me would have been really useful.

You can find it over here (as usual) http://blogs.technet.com/b/exchange/archive/2011/05/18/the-mailbox-server-role-requirements-calculator-now-with-database-copy-distribution.aspx

I can’t wait to see what he does next.

Categories: Exchange 2010
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

