Home > Exchange 2010, Useful Tools > The Exchange Team does it again.

The Exchange Team does it again.

So I am continually amazed how the Exchange team keeps
surprising me with giving its customers and users more and more features and
tools.

For the last, what 5 years or so I have been working with
the Exchange team in various ways and in that time I had one of my favourite tools,
the “Exstat” tool which was a tool written by Paul Bowden specifically for the
Exchange TAP programme way back in time!! It has been used, updated and kept
alive by the team ever since, WHY? Because it was a fantastic tool for informaing
both the administrator and TAP team what was deployed in the network etc.

I have used it ever since I first got my hands on it, anyway
back to the point I was reading Steve Goodmans Exchange blogs (http://www.stevieg.org/2011/06/exchange-environment-report/)
this morning as I have many blogs post to catch up on. To find Microsoft has
only gone and provided it to the masses J
please try this especially if you have a number of Exchange boxes, it can sometimes
really useful.

From the looks of it this script is providing exactly the same as the one the TAP
participants received. Next time I get time in my lab I am going to have to give this a whirl and see how easy it is going to be to modify (only slightly).

 

 

 

 

  1. June 21, 2011 at 8:56 am

    Hi Robbie,

    Glad you like the script, I love the output of the ExART tool we get on the TAP and had been meaning for ages to write my “own” version to share with others – the original tool’s output is a great day-to-day snapshot of the environment and I’d always thought it was a pity Microsoft didn’t release something similar. I should add it’s not in any way “official” (as I don’t work for MS!)

    Steve

  2. blackduke77
    June 21, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    Hi Steve, even more impressed, it is so close to what the TAP tool is I thought it was using the same code, until I chacked. Nice work and thank you it is a really good tool.

    • June 21, 2011 at 11:30 pm

      It is a homage to ExART so if it’s looks very similar that is only a good thing 🙂

      Hope life is treating you well after retiring from helping run the TAP!

      Steve

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

