Home > Hyper-V > The operation cannot be performed while the object is in its current state

The operation cannot be performed while the object is in its current state

So today was interesting, in my lab I got one of my Hyper-V host machines in a state and had to change the lab architecture slightly but in doing so I was left with a VM which I no longer required that I could not delete, start or do anything with.

The VM was in a saved state.

image

 

When I attempted to delete, start or anything I got an error saying “The operation cannot be performed while the object is in its current state.”

image

Navigate to C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Hyper-V\Virtual Machines and delete the xml file for the VM and just like magic the VM is gone form the console you just need to clean up the files left.

 

image

Categories: Hyper-V
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

